Phillips, Cook & Weatherly On The List

Phillips, Cook & Weatherly On The List

25 Nominees Named For NASCAR Hall Of Fame Voting

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — Larger than life figures who built NASCAR lap by lap and bolt by bolt from the post-World War II era into the 21st century comprise the 25 nominees for the NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2014.

NASCAR today announced those 25 nominees for the NASCAR Hall of Fame’s fifth induction class, and included among the diverse group of five newcomers is five-time NASCAR weekly series national champion Larry Phillips.

Phillips joins a group whose achievements are cornerstones of the sport’s origins and continue to fuel its growth in contemporary times.

Of the 25 nominees, 20 return from last year’s group. In addition to Phillips, newcomers to the list are second generation NASCAR premier (now Sprint Cup) series champion Dale Jarrett; Maurice Petty, for more than three decades the chief engine builder for Petty Enterprises; race track builder and owner Bruton Smith; and 1960 NASCAR premier series champion Rex White.

Phillips joins a list of nominees with deep ties to the grassroots racing series of NASCAR including Jerry Cook, a six-time NASCAR Modified national champion who record 342 Modified wins in his career, and Joe Weatherley, who twice won the NASCAR Modified national title and also won the NASCAR premier (now Sprint Cup) series championship two times.


In addition, nominee Red Byron won the first NASCAR Modified national championship in 1948.

Among the first 20 inductees into the NASCAR Hall of Fame are Bobby Allison and Richie Evans. Allison, inducted in 2011, won two NASCAR Modified Special Division and two NASCAR Modified Division national titles before he went on to win 84 races and the 1983 NASCAR Cup Series championship. Evans was posthumously inducted in 2012 and was the first member of the Hall of Fame to spend his racing career exclusively outside of the Cup Series. He won a NASCAR record nine Modified championships.

Phillips, who passed away in 2004, raced in Late Models in the Midwest from the 1960s to 2001. From 1989, when he switched to asphalt tracks, to his final season he had 226 wins in 298 NASCAR-sanctioned starts and collected 13 track championships.

In 1995, he won the fourth of his record five national titles over current NASCAR Sprint Cup driver Greg Biffle on a tiebreaker by virtue of more wins. Phillips won 32 of 40 races that year.

From the list of 25, five inductees will be elected by the NASCAR Hall of Fame Voting Panel, which includes a nationwide fan vote on NASCAR.COM. Voting Day for the 2014 class will be May 22. Fans can attend the announcement at the NASCAR Hall of Fame in Charlotte, N.C.

This round of nominees was selected by a 21-person Nominating Committee consisting of representatives from NASCAR, the NASCAR Hall of Fame and track owners from both major facilities and historic short tracks. The committee’s votes were tabulated by accounting firm Ernst & Young.

The NASCAR Hall of Fame’s 2014 inductees will be determined by a 54-member Voting Panel, which includes the entire Nominating Committee, media members, manufacturer representatives, retired competitors (drivers, owners and crew chiefs) and recognized industry leaders. In addition, the fan vote will result in the Voting Panel’s final ballot. Fan voting on NASCAR.COM opens today, April 10 and closes May 21 at noon.

Following are the 25 nominees, listed alphabetically:

Red Byron, first NASCAR premier (now Sprint Cup) series champion, in 1949; first NASCAR Modified national champion, in 1948
Richard Childress, 11-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series
Jerry Cook, six-time NASCAR Modified champion
H. Clay Earles, founder of Martinsville Speedway
Tim Flock, two-time NASCAR premier (now Sprint Cup) series champion
Ray Fox, legendary engine builder and owner of cars driven by Buck Baker, Junior Johnson and others
Anne Bledsoe France, helped build the sport with husband Bill France Sr. Affectionately known as “Annie B.,” she is the first woman to be nominated for induction into the NASCAR Hall of Fame.
Rick Hendrick, 13-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series
Jack Ingram, two-time NASCAR Busch (now Nationwide) Series champion and three-time Late Model Sportsman national champion
Bobby Isaac, 1970 NASCAR premier (now Sprint Cup) series champion
Dale Jarrett, 1999 NASCAR premier (now Sprint Cup) series champion and three-time Daytona 500 winner
Fred Lorenzen, 26 wins and winner of the Daytona 500 and World 600
Raymond Parks, NASCAR’s first champion car owner in NASCAR premier series (1949) and Modified division (1948)
Benny Parsons, 1973 NASCAR premier (now Sprint Cup) series champion
Maurice Petty, chief engine builder for Petty Enterprises
Larry Phillips, only five-time NASCAR Whelen All-American Series national champion
Les Richter, former NASCAR executive; former president of Riverside International Raceway
Fireball Roberts, 33 NASCAR premier (now Sprint Cup) series wins, including the 1962 Daytona 500
T. Wayne Robertson, helped raise NASCAR popularity as R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company senior VP
Wendell Scott, NASCAR trailblazer was the first African-American NASCAR premier (now Sprint Cup) series race winner, and first to be nominated for induction into the NASCAR Hall of Fame.
Ralph Seagraves, formed groundbreaking Winston-NASCAR partnership as executive with R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company
O. Bruton Smith, builder of Charlotte Motor Speedway and architect of Speedway Motorsports Inc.
Curtis Turner, early personality, called the “Babe Ruth of stock car racing”
Joe Weatherly, two-time NASCAR Modified national champion and two-time NASCAR premier (now Sprint Cup) series champion
Rex White, 1960 NASCAR premier (now Sprint Cup) series champion
Detailed information about the 25 nominees is available at NASCAR.COM (


NASCAR Hall of Fame: Executive Director Winston Kelley; Historian Buz McKim.

NASCAR Officials: Chairman/CEO Brian France; Vice Chairman Jim France; President Mike Helton; Vice President of Competition Robin Pemberton; Senior Vice President of Racing Operations Steve O’Donnell; Competition Administrator Jerry Cook; former Senior Vice President Paul Brooks; former Vice President Ken Clapp.

Track Owners/Operators: International Speedway Corporation CEO Lesa Kennedy; Martinsville Speedway President Clay Campbell; Texas Motor Speedway President Eddie Gossage; Atlanta Motor Speedway President Ed Clark; former Indianapolis Motor Speedway President Tony George; Dover Motorsports CEO Denis McGlynn; Pocono Raceway board of director member Looie McNally; Bowman Gray Stadium operator Dale Pinilis; Riverhead Raceway operators Jim and Barbara Cromarty (1 vote); Rockford Speedway owner Jody Deery; Kingsport Speedway Operator Robert Pressley.

Unfiltered commentary, news articles, video and insights about virtually all aspects motorsports. Latest F1, NASCAR, Indycar, NHRA, MotoGP, and SportsCars news.